Peabody in the news

Peabody’s Underwood Road development in Tower Hamlets has been shortlisted for a prestigious Housing Design Award.

Designed by Brady Mallalieu Architects and completed in April 2015, the scheme was part-funded by the Greater London Authority (GLA) and includes 33 new affordable homes for rent and shared ownership in Whitechapel, east London. These range from one-bedroom flats to three-bedroom courtyard houses and four-bedroom maisonettes.

A rooftop terrace and south-facing garden provides shared communal space. Banded lettering is inscribed into the masonry walls at street level describing the history of the site as a Jewish Maternity Hospital.

Peabody -underwood -road -new -build -development

Angela Epps, Development Director at Peabody said:

"We're delighted that this scheme has been recognised by the committee. Our developments are designed to enhance their surroundings and create strong communities that enhance quality of life.

"Working with the best architects and planners, we are passionate about providing beautiful, practical and robust homes designed with longevity in mind."

Andrew Carr, Senior Project Architect at Brady Mallalieu Architects said:

"It's great to be recognised for the Underwood Road project in the Housing Design Awards. The development provides much needed housing for London in a great location.

"A diverse range of house and flat types combine a feeling of safety and solidity with sunny outdoor spaces and great views across the city."

Our homes in development

About the Housing Design Awards

The Housing Design Awards showcase excellence and innovation in design, and are a cross-industry partnership between various arms of government, the private sector and all the professional institutions.

The nominated schemes will be assessed by representatives including the Greater London Authority, the Royal Institute of British Architects, the Homes and Communities Agency, the Department for Communities and Local Government, and the Royal Institute for Chartered Surveyors.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony in central London on 4 July.