Meet some employees and find out what they think about working for us

More testimonials: Gallions (Thamesmead) employees

 


Marketing Manager: Andrew PeglauAndrew -peglau -working -for -peabody

Joined us in October 2014

What do you do at Peabody?

I’m Marketing Manager in the Sales team at Peabody. My job is to oversee all the marketing activity to help us sell our new homes and I’m happy to say that I’m working with a team of talented marketers to do just that.

I get really excited whenever I see one of our adverts in the press or my team produces a new brochure, show home or marketing suite.

What attracted you to work here?

Peabody’s reputation for one – the fact that it’s been developing homes in London for over 150 years really appealed to me. And the fact that all the revenue generated from sales goes back into affordable housing appealed to my better instincts.

The benefits it offers are great. Peabody have given me the chance to develop my career while working here. For example, they're supporting me through Level 5 in Leadership and Management Skills from the ILM (Institute of Leadership & Management).

Where did you come from previously?

I worked at Notting Hill Housing. It’s a similar size.

What has it been like? Any surprises?

Life at Peabody is very fast-paced, which I love. No day is ever the same, and I appreciate the variety. We have ambitious targets and to meet them we have to continually strive to improve the way we do things.

But I’m part of a great team who pull together to get things done, and that helps. 

One of the surprises was the variety of charitable work that Peabody undertakes, like the Peabody Promise. I love that the organisation gives back from within its ranks, and at all levels within the organisation.

What would you say to anyone thinking of applying for a job at Peabody?

Peabody is an organisation for people with ambition, determination and drive. Be prepared to get stuck in.


IT Service Desk Manager: Ersal Mehmet-AliErsal -mehmet -ali -peabody -work

What do you do at Peabody?

At Peabody I'm the IT Service Desk Manager.

What attracted you to work here?

I had already been working for Peabody since 2000. I enjoy the people I work with, and decided to stay here.

Where did you come from previously?

My first job with Peabody was as an estate Caretaker. I did this for about 10 years.

However I was always interested in computers and IT and took some computer courses at college to improve myself in that area and move up the career ladder.

After three years of studying I contacted the IT manager, asking if they could let me work for one day a week to gain work experience in the service desk department.

They agreed to do this. A few months later a post came up as a service desk analyst. I applied and was successful. I did this for four years and when the Service Desk Manager post came up I went for it and was successful.

What has it been like? Any surprises?

In the beginning I had to get used to being in the office all day as I was used to being outdoors in my previous job. And of course I had to get used to doing a completely different job. Eventually I got used to it and started to enjoy it.

What would you say to anyone thinking of applying for a job at Peabody?

Peabody is a great organisation to work for. If you plan to apply for a job with Peabody you will receive lots of support to develop yourself and move up in the organisation.

 


Alicia Savva

Policy Officer: Alicia Savva

Joined us in April 2009

"I review and update our housing policies in consultation with service areas. I am responsible for managing our telephone survey company, Voluntas, and monitoring and reporting on customer satisfaction. 

"I also provide support to the Housing Policy Group meetings, where policies are reviewed and service improvements are discussed.

"Finally, along with the rest of the Policy & Insight team, I respond to customer and staff enquiries."

What has it been like working at Peabody? And is there anything you’ve particularly enjoyed?

"When I first joined I worked in our Community Services department as a Programme Officer. I enjoyed meeting lots of people while working in a variety of locations. I worked on employment and training, volunteering and wellbeing programmes.

"I appreciated the opportunity to apply for a secondment to the Policy & Insight team to become a Policy Officer, as I wanted to stay working for Peabody but try to learn more about its housing management functions." 

What would you tell someone considering working for Peabody?

"Go for it! The workforce is diverse and it does not take too long to settle in."  


Kayode Ogundamisi

Neighbourhood Manager: Kayode Ogundamisi

Joined us in March 2013

"I am the Neighbourhood Manager for Fulham Palace Road, Hammersmith, Cleverly estate, Wormholt Road, and Shepherds Bush. I deal with tenancy-related queries, low-level antisocial behaviour, and engage with stakeholders as well as resident groups."

What has it been like working at Peabody? And is there anything you’ve particularly enjoyed?

"I particularly like the emphasis placed on the dream of the founder George Peabody, which is providing quality homes and 'making London a place of opportunity for all'. I am thrilled that we do not shut the door on members of our communities who are categorised as 'poor'.

"I am passionate about supporting the underprivileged in communities and working with Peabody feels like a fulfilment of that passion.

"Working for  Peabody is not just a job, it is also an opportunity to serve. I have particularly enjoyed trying to find solutions to queries by vulnerable residence and directing them to places where they can find help. Dealing with young residents provides me with an opportunity to understand the challenges communities face and the need to support our young ones into diverting the abundant energy they have into something positive." 

What would you tell someone considering working for Peabody?

"Go for it! Peabody is more than a working place, you are surrounded by dedicated staff that tune into the spirit of the founder. The workforce is diverse and it does not take too long to settle in." 


Paul Beaton

Design Manager: Paul Beaton

Joined us in March 2008

"I look after our brand and everything to do with how we are represented in a visual way including printed materials, website, multimedia, advertising and signage."

What has it been like working at Peabody?  And is there anything you’ve particularly enjoyed?

"It’s a great place to work and I wouldn’t have stayed this long if I didn’t work with other creative professional people.

"The people here make it worthwhile and it’s not always easy, but it is always a challenge. I’ve particular enjoyed how much my job takes me around the organization — our team works with almost all departments and you really do get a great understanding of what housing is all about and of course, why we do what we do.

"I probably have one of the nicest jobs (also one of the busiest and most demanding) at Peabody and I’m very proud to work here." 

What would you tell someone considering working for Peabody?

"I would tell them to go for it! We have a great mix of people, learning opportunities on and off the job and I couldn’t wish for a nicer place to work." 


Wells chomutare

Assistant Head of Neighbourhoods: Wells Chomutare

Joined us in October 2005

"I joined Peabody in October 2005. Since 2012, I have been Assistant Head of Neighbourhoods.

"I manage a team of nine neighbourhood managers, covering the North West sub-region which has approximately 5,500 properties.

"I support them in their roles to ensure that they can deliver good customer service."

What has it been like working at Peabody?  And is there anything you’ve particularly enjoyed?

"It was my first foray into housing.  I joined as a Neighbourhood Manager, working on a number of estates. This enabled me to engage with a lot of communities and get to know residents and really appreciate London’s diversity.

"I’ve seen the work Peabody does at first hand, how we help to give people a ‘step up’. For instance, we offer training, help with finding work, volunteering and more. I’ve seen the difference this can make - especially to young people who can tap into our resources.

"I really believe in encouraging people. I myself don't have a housing background but have still been able to work and progress in this field. Demonstrating a good attitude will take you far." 

What would you tell someone considering working for Peabody?

"Peabody is a reputable organisation with a strong history of offering Londoners opportunities. It provides extensive training to staff, tailored to the company’s culture which is to provide excellent customer service.

"My colleagues are highly skilled, friendly and professional and are committed to their work as well as Peabody’s objectives. I enjoy working here." 


Carol Fregiste

Community Safety Officer: Carol Fregiste

Joined us in October 2002

"My role is to reduce and resolve incidents of antisocial behaviour (ASB) on Peabody’s estates and take the lead on investigations into reports of ASB, domestic abuse and hate crimes.

"I work in partnership with colleagues and external agencies implementing proactive solutions to both prevent and resolve ASB across our properties, working with our  legal team to take action where necessary."

What has it been like working at Peabody?  And is there anything you’ve particularly enjoyed?

"Peabody is my first housing job and what I have liked about working for the organisation is that you can map your own career and sample various roles.

"Since starting as an administrator, I have had seven positions, both managerial and administrative and have relished every opportunity given. I find Peabody is a company which encourages staff development and creates many opportunities." 

What would you tell someone considering working for Peabody?

"That Peabody is a great organisation to work for. I believe that they do look after their staff and encourage growth of knowledge and skills within the organisation.

"They also believe in equipping staff with the training to carry out their duties effectively and encourage different working styles to accommodate varying lives." 


Ijeoma Okpal

Lettings Team Manager (West region): Ijay Onyechi

Joined us in January 2006

"I manage a team of lettings officers who look after the marketing and letting of empty properties and also administer any change to tenancies that could be as a result of re-housing, addition of family members, a death, etc.

What has it been like working at Peabody? Is there anything you’ve particularly enjoyed?

"Working in Peabody has been very rewarding and exciting for me. I started as a team administrator in the lettings team and gained enough experience and knowledge to become a lettings officer before I manage d the team. What I have found most rewarding is being able to make a real difference in the lives of people by providing a fundamental need; housing.

"I have also met and people, who have come to us as homeless and jobless and seen them get a home, become gainfully employed as a result of the support and advice we provided"

What would you tell someone considering working for Peabody?

"I would say that Peabody is an organisation that recognises and rewards hard work, it is an organisation whose ethos and values are clear and team members become like your family."